Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Impervious (Book Review)

"Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will simply adore Impervious." (Pretty Little Pages)

That quote was at the top of the email I received about Impervious by Heather Letto.  I received a copy, at no cost to me, for review purposes.

Here's the text from the back cover:
The residents of Impervious are the remnant—survivors of the War of Annihilation. And though the city is chock full of pleasures to tantalize and entertain, a beast lurks in its corners haunting the residents with its presence.
The Beast—a mysterious and terminal illness--has killed off most of Generations One, Two, and Three. And as Gen-Four prepares to take the stage a provocative, yet questionable, new method to avoid an untimely death becomes a cultural rage.
But Fran is counter-cultural. And living off the grid in true rebel fashion, her life is far from opulent. Scurrying through dark tunnels, searching for hot meals and ditching the holographic security team encompass most of her day. However, she views it as a healthy trade-off. Unaccountability means The Council can’t steal her sliver of hope--a belief that she’ll see The Epoch arrive before the beast can pull her into its fetid embrace.
After losing her mother and then her Rebel mentor, however, she grasps painfully onto the splintered sliver, until a new hope is born. First through Pete. And then through a miraculous discovery. But the question still haunts her…
Can she outrun The Beast?
I haven't read either Divergent or The Hunger Games.  However, I'm glad I read Impervious.  I was hooked within the first few pages, and I read more in every free moment.  As always I was tempted to peek ahead, but I didn't cave!  The adventure and suspense were fun.  I held my breath as Fran walked through danger, as she ducked from the holographic security team, and as she barely escaped discovery.

Author Heather Letto says, "My desired goal for IMPERVIOUS was to paint an outrageous, yet allegoric picture of heaven and earth that would grab the attention of believers and non-believers alike." I would say that she achieved that goal. Other themes in Impervious are peer pressure and not fitting in, submission to government authorities, and true friendship.

As I neared the end of the book, I had one burning question ... which wasn't answered. The ending of Impervious cries out for a sequel, and the author promises one. This is the first book in the "Ascension Series," and I am already looking forward to the next installment!

I should mention that the book isn't the slickest production I've ever seen. The cover text is pixelated, and the inside text could have been edited more thoroughly. Usually those things bother me, but in this case I found that the story was absorbing enough that I had no trouble overlooking those details.

For more information, visit the author's website at HeatherLetto.com. On her site you can also download a free curriculum guide; scroll down to the bottom right corner of this page.

2 comments :

  1. That does sound good. I've only read one or two books where those errors didn't bother me so I'm going to trust you on that and add this to my list. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the heads up...
    LOVE LOVE LOVE Hunger Games ---
    I will tell you, grab all 3, as soon as you finish one, you will want to move onto the next one... Makes it easier ;)
    I read all 3 in a few days...
    will have to look at this one now

    ReplyDelete

I love to hear what you're thinking, so thank you for leaving a comment!

Spammers are unwelcome here, and spam comments will be deleted.

ShareThis